Ghost blend reggaeton-style beats with metal riffing in theatrical new single, Twenties

(Image credit: Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images)

Ghost have always resided on the poppier side of metal, fusing high-gain electric guitar riffs with uber-catchy vocals and pristine production. 

And for their latest single, Twenties, the Tobias Forge-led theatrical metal powerhouse have tapped into reggaeton, utilizing its characteristic syncopated beat as a bedrock underneath distorted six-strings and a frantic brass section.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Sam Roche

Sam was Staff Writer at from 2019 to 2023, and also created content for Total Guitar, Guitarist and Guitar Player. He has well over 15 years of guitar playing under his belt, as well as a degree in Music Technology (Mixing and Mastering). He's a metalhead through and through, but has a thorough appreciation for all genres of music. In his spare time, Sam creates point-of-view guitar lesson videos on YouTube under the name Sightline Guitar.