Monster Magnet Premiere New Music Video

New Jersey rock band Monster Magnet will release its long-awaited new album Mastermind on October 26. Check out the brand new Monster Magnet music video for the album’s roll out single “Gods and Punks” below.

The “Gods and Punks” video was directed by Nathan "Karma" Cox (Queens of the Stone Age, Linkin Park, HIM) and tells the story of “a Super Villain down on his luck” whose “life’s mission is to destroy the planet” trying to find a way to make his way back to “respectable evil genus status.” The clever, stylized video boils with a cinematic resonance and underlying social statement about “corporate takeovers and the current political climate” all to the soundtrack of the sardonic rock ‘n’ roll of Monster Magnet.

"Mr. Cox’s savvy take on life in the "Me, Me, Me" 21st century by way the of the superhero metaphor is nothing less than genius,” commented Monster Magnet frontman Dave Wyndorf. “I stand in awe."

Monster Magnet’s Mastermind is available for pre-order in a variety of bundles at this location. The album's cover artwork, designed by Invisible Creature (Wolfmother, Chris Cornell, Foo Fighters) and can be viewed at this location .

"I'm extremely proud of this new album," says Wyndorf. "It's a big, beefy ball of demented anthems and power rock. The music itself is exaggerated and muscular; like classic rock gone insane! Giant hooks, giant sounds. The rockers are direct and intense. The ballads; trippy and strange. It's guitar heaven."

The track listing for Monster Magnet’s Mastermind is as follows:

  • 1.) Hallucination Bomb
  • 2.) Bored with Sorcery
  • 3.) Dig That Hole
  • 4.) Gods and Punks
  • 5.) The Titan Who Cried Like A Baby
  • 6.) Mastermind
  • 7.) 100 Million Miles
  • 8.) Perish In Fire
  • 9.) Time Machine
  • 10.) When the Planes Fall from the Sky
  • 11.) Ghost Story
  • 12.) All Outta Nothin'

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.