Watch Samantha Fish debut wailing new track Better Be Lonely in killer live performance video

Samantha Fish has dropped the video for her new track, Better Be Lonely, the third single from her forthcoming studio album, Faster.

Better Be Lonely treads a line between the sounds of Fish’s previously released pop-rock monster, Twisted Ambition, and the rootsier Crowd Control, blending a bag of classic ‘Stones-style licks and tones with a soulful vocal performance.

“[It's] about putting someone on ice,” says Fish of the track's meaning. “Where you’re telling them: ‘I don’t want you right now, but when I am ready to have you, you better be there.’”

Although Fish wrote and recorded Faster with multi-instrumentalist/producer Martin Kierszenbaum and some stellar studio talent (including drummer Josh Freese), the video is a nice showcase of Fish’s own band, which includes bassist Ron Johnson, drummer Sarah Tomek and keyboardist Matt Wade.

The group will be hitting the road shortly in support of Faster – starting off with a set in Steamboat Springs, Colorado on September 5 and playing across the US until late December. There will also be a UK and Europe stint to follow in the new year.

Faster is set for a September 10 release via Rounder Records. You can preorder the album here (opens in new tab), and check out its cover art and track list below.

The cover of Samantha Fish's new album, 'Faster'

(Image credit: Rounder Records)

Samantha Fish – Faster:

  1. Faster
  2. All Ice No Whiskey
  3. Twisted Ambition
  4. Hypnotic
  5. Forever Together
  6. Crowd Control
  7. Imaginary War
  8. Loud (featuring Tech N9ne)
  9. Better Be Lonely
  10. So Called Lover
  11. Like a Classic
  12. All the Words

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Parker

Matt is a staff writer for Before that he spent 10 years as a freelance music journalist, interviewing artists for the likes of Total Guitar, Guitarist, Guitar World, MusicRadar,, DJ Mag and Electronic Sound. In 2020, he launched (opens in new tab), which aims to share the ideas that make creative lifestyles more sustainable. He plays guitar, but should not be allowed near your delay pedals.