Hear an Alternate Recording of "Bad Company" from the Legendary UK Band's New Deluxe Remasters — Exclusive

Today, GuitarWorld.com presents the exclusive premiere of a previously unreleased alternate recording of "Bad Company," the title track from the 1974 debut album by—you guessed it—Bad Company.

The recording is from the new remastered, deluxe edition of the album, which will be released April 7 by Rhino. Rhino also will release a new deluxe version of the band's hit 1975 album, Straight Shooter, the same day.

Both two-disc releases feature a host of rare and previously unreleased recordings by the influential U.K. rockers, all of which are from the original master tapes. You can see complete track lists for both albums below.

Our exclusive premiere of "Bad Company" is a re-take from the reel that yielded the better-known master. This is actually take 2 (LMS Studio Reel 8 - 73 Session); the next complete version was the one used on the album.

Vocalist Paul Rodgers, along with guitarist Mick Ralphs, bassist Boz Burrell and drummer Simon Kirke recorded Bad Company in November 1973 using Ronnie Lane’s mobile studio at Headley Grange, where Led Zeppelin frequently recorded. Bad Company went to Number 1 in the U.S. the following year.

Its second disc features 12 tracks, including eight previously unreleased recordings such as the demo for “The Way I Choose” and an unedited version of “Superstar Woman,” which Rodgers later recorded in 1983 for his Cut Loose album. Also featured are the single edit of “Can’t Get Enough” and the B-sides “Little Miss Fortune” and “Easy on My Soul.”

For more about Bad Company, visit badcompany.com. For more about Rhino, visit rhino.com. For more about the new deluxe editions of the albums, head here.

Bad Company Deluxe Editions | Track Listings:

Bad Company (1974)

Disc One
01. “Can’t Get Enough”
02. “Rock Steady”
03. “Ready For Love”
04. “Don’t Let Me Down”
05. “Bad Company”
06. “The Way I Choose”
07. “Movin’ On”
08. “Seagull”

Disc Two
01. “Can’t Get Enough” (Take 1)*
02. “Little Miss Fortune” (Demo Reel 1)*
03. “The Way I Choose” (Demo Reel 1)*
04. “Bad Company” (LMS Studio Reel 2-73 Session)*
05. “The Way I Choose” (Version 1 Inc. F/S)
06. “Easy On My Soul” (Long Version)
07. “Bad Company” (LMS Studio Reel 8-73 Session)*
08. Studio Chat/Dialogue
09. “Superstar Woman” (Long Version)*
10. “Can’t Get Enough” (Single Edit)
11. “Little Miss Fortune” (B-side of “Can’t Get Enough”)*
12. “Easy On My Soul” (B-side of “Movin’ On”)*

Straight Shooter (1975)

Disc One
01. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad”
02. “Feel Like Makin’ Love”
03. “Weep No More”
04. “Shooting Star”
05. “Deal With The Preacher”
06. “Wild Fire Woman”
07. “Anna”
08. “Call On Me”

Disc Two
01. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” (Alternate Vocal & Guitar)*
02. “Feel Like Makin’ Love” (Take Before Master)*
03. “Weep No More” (Early Slow Version)*
04. “Shooting Star” (Alternate Take)*
05. “Deal With The Preacher” (Early Version)*
06. “Anna” (Alternate Vocal)*
07. “Call On Me” (Alternate Take)*
08. “Easy On My Soul” (Slow Version)
09. “Whiskey Bottle” (Early Slow Version)
10. “See the Sunlight”
11. “All Night Long”
12. “Wild Fire Woman” (Alternate Vocal & Guitar)*
13. “Feel Like Makin’ Love” (Harmonica Version)
14. “Whiskey Bottle” (B-side of “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” )
* Tracks featured on Deluxe Edition LPs

Photo: Carl Dunn

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.