Children of Bodom Announce Forthcoming Covers Album

Children of Bodom, the Finnish Heavy Metal band that features singer/shredder Alexi Laiho, will release a full album of cover tunes containing 17 remakes of the group’s all-time favorite songs this fall. Titled Skeletons in the Closet, the record will drop on September 22, 2009 via Spinefarm Records / Fontana International.

Skeletons in the Closet features a selection of covers—some of them previously existing recordings, others specially laid down for this release—including the Ramones’ “Somebody Put Something in My Drink,” Iron Maiden’s “Aces High,” “Talk Dirty to Me” by Poison and Billy Idol's “Rebel Yell” among others. Of special note is Children of Bodom’s now-infamous take on Britney Spears’ “Oops!...I Did It Again.” The cover previously appeared on a Japanese-only pressing of the band’s 2005 album Are You Dead Yet?.

The complete track listing for COB’s Skeletons in the Closet is as follows:

  • 1.) Lookin’ Out My Back Door (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
  • 2.) Hell is for Children (Pat Benatar)
  • 3.) Somebody Put Something in My Drink (Ramones)
  • 4.) Mass Hypnosis (Sepultura)
  • 5.) Don’t Stop at the Top (Scorpions)
  • 6.) Silent Scream (Slayer)
  • 7.) Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) (Kenny Rogers)
  • 8.) Hellion (W.A.S.P.)
  • 9.) Aces High (Iron Maiden)
  • 10.) Rebel Yell (Billy Idol)
  • 11.) No Commands (Stone)
  • 12.) Antisocial (Trust / Anthrax)
  • 13.) Talk Dirty to Me (Poison)
  • 14.) (Ghost) Riders In the Sky (Stan Jones / Johnny Cash)
  • 15.) War Inside My Head (Suicidal Tendencies)
  • 16.) Oops!...I Did It Again (Britney Spears)
  • 17.) Waiting (King Diamond)

Children of Bodom will return to North America this fall to headline a massive, month-long tour in support of Skeletons in the Closet. Presented by ESP Guitars and Spinefarm Records in association with EMG, Exclaim! and your very own Guitar World, the 20-city trek will launch on Friday, September 18 at Lupo’s Heartbreak Hotel in Providence, RI and will hit major markets in both the U.S. and Canada along the way. Support on the COB tour will be provided by The Black Dahlia Murder and Skeletonwitch.

Children of Bodom fall tour dates:
* = The Black Dahlia Murder and Skeletonwitch support
# = Skeletonwitch and TBA support
% = Includes special guest Australian Death Machine

# September 18 Providence, RI Lupo’s Heartbreak Hotel
* September 19 Sayreville, NJ Starland Ballroom
* September 20 Clifton Park, NY Northern Lights
* September 22 Quebec City, QC Captiole Theatre
* September 23 Montreal, QC Metropolis
* September 25 Kitchner, ON Elements
* September 26 Toronto, ON Sound Academy
# September 27 Chicago, IL House Of Blues
* September 28 Minneapolis, MN Epic
* September 30 Winnipeg, MB The Garrick
* October 1 Saskatoon, SK The Odeon
* October 2 Calgary, AB MacEwan Hall
* October 3 Edmonton, AB EEC
* October 5 Vancouver, BC The Commodore
# October 6 Seattle, WA Showbox Market
# October 7 Portland, OR Roseland Theatre
# + % October 9 San Francisco, CA Regency Ballroom
# October 10 Pomona, CA The Glasshouse
% October 11 Pomona, CA The Glasshouse (Holy Grail also supports)
# + % October 12 Tempe, AZ Marquee Theatre
October 14 Honolulu, HI Pipeline Cafe (CHILDREN OF BODOM only)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.