Joe Satriani, Nita Strauss, Nuno Bettencourt and Orianthi to appear on new orchestral album

[L-R] Joe Satriani, Nita Strauss, Nuno Bettencourt and Orianthi
(Image credit: Getty Images)

A star-studded lineup of guitarists including Joe Satriani, Nita Strauss, Nuno Bettencourt and Orianthi will appear on Symphony of Sinners & Saints Vol. 2, a new album by composer Kitt Wakeley.

Kicking off proceedings, Wakeley has released the album’s first single, MVP, which features soaring, melodic electric guitar leads from Nita Strauss, drumming by Kenny Aronoff and an orchestral backdrop courtesy of the Macedonian Orchestra. Check it out below.

The upcoming album follows last year’s Symphony of Sinners & Saints, which also featured Joe Satriani on two of its tracks.

“I’m excited about the release of Vol. 2,” Wakeley says. “It gives me the opportunity to resolve the remaining creativity from my prior projects. There is a lot to build on from the previous album and I made sure there is an upward trajectory with the second album in this series.

“Releasing MVP as the first single sets the tone for the continuation of epic orchestral rock and Nita Strauss takes no prisoners with her approach on the guitars. Her rhythm and lead tracks made a huge statement for the first single.”

“Collaborating with other artists is always great, but it’s made better when that artist really embraces your style and what you bring to the table,” adds Strauss. “Kitt’s music is thematic and emotional, and I had a great time adding a layer of hurricane to these songs!”

“Kitt’s compositions are amazing,” says Aronoff. “I have a heavy orchestral background – working with Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copeland and Boston Symphony Orchestra, and doing four years at Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington, Indiana – so I appreciated and love the fusion of classical music with rock and roll music.”

Recorded at London's famous Abbey Road Studios, Macedonia's FAME Studios and LA's EastWest Studios, Symphony of Sinners & Saints Vol. 2 also features guitarists Jay Gleason and João Miguel, drummer Brent Berry, bassist Ryan Miller, pianist Starr Parodi, and vocalist Marcelo Vieria.

The album – which arrives on January 6, 2023 – also looks set to feature among its originals, covers of Led Zeppelin's Stairway to Heaven, Eagles Hotel California and Queen's We Will Rock You. Take a look at its tracklist in full below.

  1. Sacred (feat. Joe Satriani and Kenny Aronoff) ~
  2. You Gave Me Wings (feat. Joe Satriani) ^
  3. Amadeus (feat. Joe Satriani) ^
  4. Paganini's Storm (feat. Nuno Bettencourt)
  5. Requiem of the Fallen (feat. Nuno Bettencourt) ^
  6. No Apologies (feat. Nuno Bettencourt) ^
  7. MVP (feat. Nita Strauss and Kenny Aronoff) *
  8. Closure (feat. Nita Strauss and Kenny Aronoff) *
  9. Stairway to Heaven (feat. Orianthi) ~
  10. Hotel California ~
  11. We Will Rock You ~

~ with the London Symphony Orchestra and London Voices
^ with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and London Voices
* with the Macedonian Orchestra and Macedonian Choir

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Sam Roche

Sam was Staff Writer at from 2019 to 2023, and also created content for Total Guitar, Guitarist and Guitar Player. He has well over 15 years of guitar playing under his belt, as well as a degree in Music Technology (Mixing and Mastering). He's a metalhead through and through, but has a thorough appreciation for all genres of music. In his spare time, Sam creates point-of-view guitar lesson videos on YouTube under the name Sightline Guitar.