Metallica announce new album 72 Seasons and share video for first single Lux Æterna

Metallica 2023 new album 72 Seasons
(Image credit: Tim Saccenti)

Metallica have announced their 12th album, 72 Seasons, is due to arrive on April 14, 2023, but you can already check out the video for their first single Lux Æterna.

The 12-track album has once again been produced by Greg Fidelman (who also worked on 2016’s Hardwired… To Self Destruct), with James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich also manning the desk.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Parker
Features Editor,

Matt is Features Editor for Before that he spent 10 years as a freelance music journalist, interviewing artists for the likes of Total Guitar, Guitarist, Guitar World, MusicRadar,, DJ Mag and Electronic Sound. In 2020, he launched, which aims to share the ideas that make creative lifestyles more sustainable. He plays guitar, but should not be allowed near your delay pedals.