UFO Best-Of CD Coming April 15

As the influential UK rock band UFO prepares to land in several U.S. cities this April and May, Capitol/EMI announces the April 15 release of The Best of UFO (1974–1983), a new collection of the band’s top tracks from the Chrysalis and Ariola Records vaults. The 19-track CD and digital album is chronologically sequenced with hits and other standout album cuts, as well as 7” single edits.

Formed in London in 1969, UFO’s original hard rock style evolved into a more meandering space rock influenced sound before the band unleashed its signature heavy guitar rock structure in the mid ‘70s, a pioneering style that would inform popular music in decades to come, as the band’s international touring and album releases connected with a worldwide audience. UFO has been cited as a major influence on the evolution of heavy metal in the 1980s by many of the genre’s top players, including members of Metallica, Megadeth, Iron Maiden and Tesla, among others.

The Best of UFO (1974–1983) begins with “Rock Bottom” and “Oh My” from the band’s first Chrysalis release, 1974’s Phenomenon, then moves to “Let It Roll” and “Shoot Shoot” from 1975’s Force It. 1976’s No Heavy Petting is represented by “Can You Roll Her,” “I’m A Loser” and “Natural Thing;” 1977’s title track to Lights Out is included, along with the album’s “Love To Love” and “Too Hot To Handle,” followed by 1978’s “Only You Can Rock Me” (7” version) from Obsession. A live single edit of “Doctor Doctor” is included from UFO’s critically acclaimed 1979 concert album, Strangers In The Night; 1980’s “Lettin’ Go” and “Young Blood” (7” edit) are included from No Place To Run, followed by 1981’s “Lonely Heart” (7” edit) and “Chains Chains” from The Wild, the Willing and the Innocent. “Let It Rain” and “We Belong To The Night” from the band’s final Chrysalis album, 1982’s Mechanix, are followed by 1983’s “When It’s Time To Rock” (7” edit) from Making Contact, rounding out the tracklist.

UFO has confirmed 25 tour dates across the U.S. in April and May (tour dates listed below). For updates and additional information, visit UFO’s official web site: www.ufo-music.info

Track Listing

1. Rock Bottom (Phenomenon)
2. Oh My (Phenomenon)
3. Let It Roll (Force It)
4. Shoot Shoot (Force It)
5. Can You Roll Her (No Heavy Petting)
6. I'm A Loser No (Heavy Petting)
7. Natural Thing (No Heavy Petting)
8. Lights Out (Lights Out)
9. Love To Love (Lights Out)
10. Too Hot To Handle (Lights Out)
11. Only You Can Rock Me (7” version) (Obsession)
12. Doctor Doctor (live single edit) (Strangers In The Night)
13. Lettin' Go (No Place To Run)
14. Young Blood (7" version) (No Place To Run)
15. Lonely Heart (7" version) (The Wild, the Willing and the Innocent)
16. Chains Chains (The Wild, the Willing and the Innocent)
17. Let It Rain (Mechanix)
18. We Belong To The Night (Mechanix)
19. When It's Time To Rock (7"version) (Making Contact)

U.S. Tour Dates

  • 9 Baltimore, MD (Club Mate)
  • 10 Poughkeepsie, NY (The Chance)
  • 11 Sayreville, NJ (Starland Ballroom)
  • 12 New York, NY (B.B. King's)
  • 13 Akron, OH (Tangiers)
  • 15 Pittsburgh, PA (Rex Theater)
  • 16 Nashville, TN (Wildhorse Saloon)
  • 17 Milwaukee, WI (Potawatomi Casino)
  • 18 Medina, MN (Medina Entertainment Center)
  • 19 Chicago, IL (House of Blues)
  • 21 Sauget, IL (Pop’s)
  • 22 Oklahoma City, OK (Diamond Ballroom)
  • 23 Dallas, TX (House of Blues)
  • 24 San Antonio, TX (HemisFair Park)
  • 26 Las Vegas, NV (Boulder Station Casino)
  • 27 Ventura, CA (Majestic Ventura Theater)
  • 28 Phoenix, AZ (The Clubhouse)
  • 30 San Diego, CA (Brick By Brick)

1 Santa Ana, CA (The Galaxy)
2 Los Angeles, CA (Key Club)
3 Santa Cruz, CA (The Catalyst)
4 San Francisco, CA (The Independent)
7 Seattle, WA (El Corazon)
8 Portland, OR (Aladdin Theatre)
9 Coeur D’Alene, ID (The Grail)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.