Skip to main content

Black Sabbath Release ‘The Ultimate Collection’

(Image credit: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

Black Sabbath is arguably the most influential heavy metal band of all time.

The band helped to create the genre with groundbreaking releases such as Paranoid, an album that Rolling Stone said “changed music forever.” Time magazine called Paranoid “the birthplace of heavy metal.”

In 2017, Black Sabbath remains one of the most prominent acts in music. Performing for more than 45 years, the band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2006, has received two Grammy awards, 13 platinum and six gold albums in the U.S., and has sold more than 75 million records worldwide.

The Ultimate Collection—released by Rhino Records—was curated by band members, resulting in a 31-track collection that features the band’s classic songs including “Paranoid,” “Iron Man,” “War Pigs,” “N.I.B.” and “The Wizard,” as well as choice cuts from their classic albums. The collection is the definitive accompaniment for all Sabbath fans as well as those with a love of hard rock.

Remastered by engineer Andy Pearce (Motörhead, Deep Purple, Lou Reed, Iggy & The Stooges), The Ultimate Collection is available February 3 in multiple formats including 2-CD ($19.98), digital/HD formats ($19.99), and a limited edition “Crucifold” edition—a heavyweight 4-LP vinyl version ($59.98) produced in the shape of the cross.

The 2-CD edition can be purchased at, and the LP version at

Black Sabbath was formed in Birmingham in 1968 by Ozzy Osbourne (lead vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar), Geezer Butler (bass) and Bill Ward (drums). Originally formed as a heavy blues-rock band named Earth, the band began incorporating occult and horror-inspired lyrics with tuned-down guitars, changing their name to Black Sabbath and releasing multiple gold and platinum records in the Seventies.

The Ultimate Collection track listing:

  • CD Disc One
  • 1. Paranoid
  • 2. Never Say Die
  • 3. Iron Man
  • 4. Black Sabbath
  • 5. Children Of The Grave
  • 6. Fairies Wear Boots
  • 7. Changes
  • 8. Rat Salad
  • 9. Sweet Leaf
  • 10. War Pigs
  • 11. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
  • 12. Hole In The Sky
  • 13. Symptom Of The Universe
  • 14. Spiral Architect
  • 15. Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor

CD Disc Two
1. Dirty Women
2. Evil Woman, Don’t Play Your Games With Me
3. A Hard Road
4. Lord Of This World
5. Into The Void
6. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
7. Snowblind
8. Tomorrow’s Dream
9. The Wizard
10. N.I.B.
11. Electric Funeral
12. Embryo
13. Killing Yourself To Live
14. Am I Going Insane
15. Wicked World
16. It’s AlrightFor more information, visit

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Since 1980, Guitar World has been the ultimate resource for guitarists. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is the place to look.