Skip to main content

The Texas Gentlemen Premiere "Pain" Music Video

(Image credit: Cal Quinn/Official Press Photo)

The Texas Gentlemen—not to be confused with the Tennessee Dirtbags—recently premiered the music video for "Pain," a track from their upcoming debut album, TX Jelly (not to be confused with Texas tea). You can check it out below.

Because people love comparing new things to old things, let's just say the Texas Gentlemen sound a bit like the late-Seventies Allman Brothers Band—with a sense of humor.

A closer look reveals bits and pieces of The Band, Little Feat, the Muscle Shoals Swampers, Bobby Whitlock and—at least during the catchy turnaround in "Pain"—a hint of 1970-to-1973 George Harrison (that tasty diminished-seven chord shape that moves up the neck).

Best of all, they are further proof that the "death of the electric guitar" has been greatly exaggerated. In fact, that whole "the guitar is dead" thing is a wheelbarrow full of clickbait nonsense.

The Lone Star State-bred Texas Gentlemen are Beau Bedford, Nik Lee, Daniel Creamer, Matt McDonald and Ryan Ake, a hirsute bunch that has served as an all-purpose backing band for an array of singer-songwriters, including Leon Bridges, the awesome Nikki Lane and—at the 2016 Newport Folk Festival—Kris Kristofferson. The band was formed by Bedford, who shares chief engineering and producing responsibilities at Dallas’ Modern Electric Sound Recorders.

TX Jelly was recorded—live—in four days at Muscle Shoals’ FAME Studios (which reminds me of a line from the Rutles' All You Need Is Cash: "Their first album was made in 20 minutes. Their second album took even longer"). The 11-song album, which was pared down from the 28 tunes the Gentlemen recorded in that quick span, summons the spirits of American songcraft as it heralds the arrival of 21st-century talent. And sure, I totally stole that line from the band's press materials—but it's right on the money.

Anywho, be sure to check out "Pain" (directed by Horatio Baltz) and the band's previously released music video, "Habbie Doobie" (directed by Speed Bump), below. P.S.: No armadillos were injured during the making of the "Habbie Doobie" clip, which is a good thing; I look out for armadillos.

TX Jelly will be released September 15 via New West Records. It's available now for preorder. And then there's those T-shirts (I'll take a large, by the way).

For more about the Texas Gentlemen, visit and follow along on Facebook, the hot new social-media thing all the kids are talking about.

damian fanelli ... ... yeah!

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.