Skip to main content

New Album by Dead Kennedys Guitarist East Bay Ray Expected in September

Dead Kennedys guitarist East Bay Ray has announced the upcoming release of the self-titled debut album by his new band, East Bay Ray and The Killer Smiles. The record is slated for a September 13 release via MVD Audio.

The 12 new tracks were produced by Butthole Surfers guitarist Paul Leary, who produced Sublime's self-titled album and their "Santeria" single. The album also features the vocals and lyrics of Skip McSkipster from the Wynonna Riders and recent Dead Kennedys tours.

"While Skip and I were touring in the DKs, we started writing a batch of new songs and wanted to record them," says East Bay Ray. "Then Paul Leary, who the DKs used to play with in warehouses back in the day, took a liking to the project and he ended up producing it."

"Working with a guitarist of Ray's caliber has allowed me to more fully explore where my vocals can go," McSkipster says. "People will find the album very wide-ranging and a good start for where the band will take us."

They are joined on the album by drummer Steve Wilson and bassist Greg Reeves, both of whom have filled in on Dead Kennedys tours.

East Bay Ray and The Killer Smiles tracklist:

  • 1. Raising the Stakes
  • 2. Lipstick Cherry Red
  • 3. You're Such A Fake
  • 4. Area 51
  • 5. The Heart Is Something
  • 6. It's Broken
  • 7. I'm A User
  • 8. The Runner
  • 9. The Last Time You Failed
  • 10. Safe and Sound
  • 11. The Hardest Part
  • 12. 16 Tons

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor, and his non-Pulitzer-Prize-winning stories have appeared in Guitar Aficionado, Vintage Guitar, Total Guitar and countless other publications, including 13.7 metric tons of daily newspapers. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton and Ty Tabor chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab) (one of which appears in the 2015 Disney film 'Tomorrowland' starring George Clooney and Britt Robertson). He's in two NYC-area bands and plays Teles with four-way switches, B-benders and semi-snazzy aftermarket pickups. He quotes Terry-Thomas twice daily.