Zeppelin Mothership Collection Coming

On November 13, Atlantic Records/Rhino Entertainment will honor the Illustrious career of Led Zeppelin with the release of Mothership, a 24-track, two-CD comprehensive collection. All eight of the band's classic studio albums will be represented, with the tracks being personally selected by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant and John Paul Jones. Mothership includes such landmark songs as "Whole Lotta Love," "Immigrant Song," "Kashmir," "Rock and Roll," "Dazed and Confused" and "Stairway to Heaven." The set will also include new liner notes by famed rock writer David Fricke.

Available at all physical retail outlets and ledzeppelin.com, Mothership collectible packages will be available in multiple configurations:

+ Standard Package: 2-CD set ($19.98 SRP)
+ Deluxe Edition: 2-CD/1-DVD featuring the premier version (90 minutes) of live performance footage culled from the Led Zeppelin DVD
($24.98 SRP)
+ Collector's Edition: 2-CD/1-DVD ultra-deluxe, collectible limited edition ($TBA)
+ Vinyl Edition: 4 LPs, high-end, audiophile quality vinyl with collectible memorabilia ($74.98 SRP)

Originally released in 1976, The Song Remains the Same soundtrack album of the concert film features songs from the band's three-night stint at Madison Square Garden in July 1973. On November 20, The Song Remains the Same soundtrack gets the deluxe reissue treatment, with the band members overseeing the remixing and remastering of the original release. The new version of the soundtrack includes six songs that were not on the original release-"Black Dog," "Over the Hills and Far Away," "Misty Mountain Hop," "Since I've Been Loving You," "The Ocean" and "Heartbreaker," plus new liner notes by Academy Award-winning director Cameron Crowe (Almost Famous).

Slated for a simultaneous release, Warner Home Video debuts brand-new DVD editions of The Song Remains the Same, now for the first time with all 14 songs from the original concert. The DVD features newly remixed and remastered sound, 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound, and boasts more than 40 minutes of added bonus material*, including never-before-released performance footage of "Over the Hills and Far Away" and "Celebration Day"; plus performances of "Misty Mountain Hop" and "The Ocean"; a rare 1976 BBC interview with Robert Plant and Peter Grant; vintage TV footage from the Drake Hotel robbery during the New York concert stand; and a Cameron Crowe radio show. The discs will be available as follows:

  • + Deluxe Edition DVD: ($19.97 SRP*)
  • + Deluxe Edition HD DVD and Blu-ray: ($28.99 SRP each*)
  • + Limited Collector's Edition: 2-disc set includes collectible vintage T-shirt with original album artwork design, soundtrack CD, lobby cards, reproductions of original premiere invites, tour schedule, and more ($TBA*)

"We have revisited The Song Remains the Same," says Jimmy Page, "and can now offer the complete set as played at Madison Square Garden. This differs substantially from the original soundtrack released in 1976, and highlights the technical prowess of Kevin Shirley, who worked with us on How the West Was Won. When it comes to The Song Remains the Same, the expansion of the DVD and soundtrack are as good as it gets on the Led Zeppelin wish list."

Mothership Track Listing:

Disc One
1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Communication Breakdown
3. Dazed and Confused
4. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Ramble On
7. Heartbreaker
8. Immigrant Song
9. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Rock and Roll
11. Black Dog
12. When the Levee Breaks
13. Stairway to Heaven

Disc Two
1. Song Remains the Same
2. Over the Hills and Far Away
3. D'Yer Maker
4. No Quarter
5. Trampled Under Foot
6. Houses of the Holy
7. Kashmir
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Achilles Last Stand
10. In the Evening
11. All My Love

The Song Remains the Same Track Listing:

Disc One
1. Rock and Roll
2. Celebration Day
3. Black Dog*
4. Over the Hills
5. Misty Mountain Hop
6. Since I've Been Loving You
7. No Quarter
8. The Song Remains the Same
9. Rain Song
10. The Ocean

Disc Two
1. Dazed and Confused
2. Stairway to Heaven
3. Moby Dick
4. Heartbreaker
5. Whole Lotta Love

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.