Skip to main content

Spiritual Beggars Premiere "Diamond Under Pressure" Lyric Video

Swedish vintage-style hard rock pioneers Spiritual Beggars released their ninth studio album, Sunrise to Sundown, March 18 in Europe and March 25 in North America via InsideOutMusic.

Now they're launching the album's second single, "Diamond Under Pressure," via a lyric video created by Costin Chioreanu/Twilight13Media (At The Gates, Grave, Arcturus, etc.), who also did the artwork for Sunrise to Sundown. You can check out the song below.

"'Diamond Under Pressure' is a song our keyboard player Per Wiberg brought in as an awesome instrumental," says Spiritual Beggars guitarist and main composer Michael Amott. "I proceeded to write a lyric and vocal arrangement for it. I was inspired by a late-night, alcohol-fuelled conversation I'd had with our producer, Staffan Karlsson, for this one.

"It's always a great time to be collaborate on music with Per, and I think this is one of my favorites off the new album. Despite all its obvious 'Purple-esque' overtones, it's still retains a very typical Spiritual Beggars feel. I'm looking forward to playing this one live on tour this spring."

Spiritual Beggars features bandleader Michael Amott (Arch Enemy, ex Carcass) on guitars, Apollo Papathanasio (ex Firewind) on vocals, Sharlee D'Angelo (Arch Enemy, Witchery) on bass, Per Wiberg (Candlemass, ex Opeth) on keyboards and Ludwig Witt (Grand Magus, Firebird) on drums.

Spiritual Beggars have hit the road soon to promote Sunrise to Sundown. You can check out all their dates below the video.

For more about Spiritual Beggars, visit


  • 01.04.2016 - Hamburg, Germany - Logo
  • 02.04.2016 - Essen, Germany - Turock
  • 04.04.2016 - Pratteln, Switzerland - Z7
  • 06.04.2016 - Kortrijk, Belgium - De Kreun
  • 07.04.2016- Rouen, France - Le 106
  • 08.04.2016 - Brest, France- Plougarock Festival Warm Up
  • 09.04.2016 - Nantes, France - Le Ferrailleur
  • 10.04.2016 - Paris, France - Backstage By The Mill
  • 12.04.2016 - Munich, Germany - Strom
  • 14.04.2016 - Karlsruhe, Germany - Substage
  • 15.04.2016 - Malmö, Sweden - KB *
  • 16.04.2016 - Stockholm, Sweden - Göta Källare *
  • 17.04.2016 - Göteborg, Sweden - Sticky Fingers *
  • 28.04.2016 - Berlin, Germany - Desertfest
  • 07.07.2016 - Ballenstedt, Germany- Rock Harz Open Air *
  • 08.07.2016 - Oulu, Finland - Jalometalli Metal Music Festival

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.