At the Gates on creating new nightmares, orchestral influences and the evolution of an iconic death metal sound

At The Gates
[from left] At the Gates’ Adrian Erlandsson (drums), Jonas Björler (bass) and Tomas Lindberg (vocals), followed by guitarists Jonas Stålhammar and Martin Larsson (Image credit: Ester Segarra)

The absence of live music at the start of the pandemic made Swedish metal icons At the Gates especially nostalgic for some of their favorite concert moments. 

Understandably, when lockdowns began ramping up in earnest around the spring of 2020, the quintet saw festival appearances booked for that summer go by the wayside – with makeup dates being pushed well off into the distance. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Gregory Adams

Gregory Adams is a Vancouver-based arts reporter. From metal legends to emerging pop icons to the best of the basement circuit, he’s interviewed musicians across countless genres for nearly two decades, most recently with Guitar World, Bass Player, Revolver, and more – as well as through his independent newsletter, Gut Feeling. This all still blows his mind. He’s a guitar player, generally bouncing hardcore riffs off his ’52 Tele reissue and a dinged-up SG.