Chelsea Wolfe debuts brooding, Wonder Woman-inspired single, Diana

Chelsea Wolfe
(Image credit: Olly Curtis/Future)

Chelsea Wolfe has unveiled a new single, Diana, inspired by Wonder Woman (aka Diana Prince) in DC Comics’ Dark Nights: Death Metal comic series.

True to Wolfe’s form, the track blends ethereal vocals with wild fuzz tones and a blockbuster production, courtesy of longtime producer Ben Chisholm and the soundtrack’s executive producer Tyler Bates.

The song is taken from the forthcoming Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack, which brings together an impressive cast of contemporary guitar superheroes, from Mastodon to Rise Against, Manchester Orchestra to Soccer Mommy.

“It has been such an honor and delight to be involved in this whole project, from contributing a song to the soundtrack, to voicing Wonder Woman for the DC Comics Sonic Metalverse episodes,” says Wolfe.

“I really love the story and artwork of this Dark Nights: Death Metal series, and felt really drawn to Diana’s part in the story – her strength and perspective. There’s this moment in the first comic book issue where she meets with Wally West and he’s so drained from his travels and all he’s had to do. I picked up on this intimate energy between them that felt almost romantic, but more just like two old friends who have an understanding between them – a moment of comfort and respite amongst all the fighting and chaos. I ended up writing this song about that encounter.

“Working with Tyler Bates on Diana was a great experience. He’s obviously so killer at creating music that feels like the soundtrack to your own movie, so between him and my co-producer Ben Chisholm there was this elevated sonic landscape surrounding the song that just brought it to a different level.”

Diana follows Forged By Neron, Mastodon’s high-octane contribution to the soundtrack, ahead of the album’s release on June 26. The full tracklisting is below:

  1. Mastodon – Forged By Neron
  2. Chelsea Wolfe – Diana
  3. HEALTH, Tyler Bates – ANTI-LIFE (feat. Chino Moreno)
  4. Maria Brink, Tyler Bates – Meet Me In Fire (feat. Andy Biersack)
  5. Grey Daze – Anything, Anything
  6. Rise Against – Broken Dreams, Inc.
  7. Manchester Orchestra – Never Ending
  8. Denzel Curry, PlayThatBoiZay – Bad Luck
  9. Carach Angren – Skull With a Forked Tongue
  10. Starcrawler – Good Time Girl
  11. GUNSHIP, Tyler Bates – Berserker (feat. Dave Lombardo)
  12. Greg Puciato, Tyler Bates, Gil Sharone – Now You've Really Done It
  13. Show Me The Body – Stone Cold Earth
  14. IDLES – Sodium
  15. Soccer Mommy – Kissing in the Rain

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Michael Astley-Brown

Mike is Editor-in-Chief of, in addition to being an offset fiend and recovering pedal addict. He has a master's degree in journalism from Cardiff University, and over a decade's experience writing and editing for guitar publications including MusicRadar, Total Guitar and Guitarist, as well as 20 years of recording and live experience in original and function bands. During his career, he has interviewed the likes of John Frusciante, Chris Cornell, Tom Morello, Matt Bellamy, Kirk Hammett, Jerry Cantrell, Joe Satriani, Tom DeLonge, Ed O'Brien, Polyphia, Tosin Abasi, Yvette Young and many more. In his free time, you'll find him making progressive instrumental rock under the nom de plume Maebe.