Hear Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators' New Song, "Driving Rain"

(Image credit: Official Press Photo)

Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators have premiered "Driving Rain," the first single off of their new album, Living the Dream. You can check it out below. 

Produced by Michael “Elvis” Baskette (Alter Bridge, Iggy Pop, Incubus), Living the Dream is  set for a September 21 release. It's the superstar guitarist's third  album with Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators, following 2012's Apocalyptic Love and 2014's World on Fire.

“This is a riff I specifically remember playing with the guys for the first time at a venue in New Hampshire on the World on Fire  tour," Slash said of the song. "It’s a cool guitar part we ran though,  and from that point forward the rest of the song started to come  together in my mind while on the road. We put it all together this year  and Myles came up with a great melody for it.”

"The riff  is very reminiscent of vintage Aerosmith," Kennedy added. "It’s got a  certain funk to it that’s compelling. Lyrically, it’s a story about  somebody who works on the road—it could be a musician, and it could be a  traveling salesman. What makes it interesting is this guy has an addict  girlfriend or spouse who continues to relapse, and she ends up getting  him to come home. She’s miserable and falls back into bad old habits,  and that compels him to head back to her to save the day.”

You can preorder Living the Dream right here, and check out its cover and tracklist below.

For more on Slash, head on over to slashonline.com.

Living the Dream tracklist:

1. The Call of the Wild

2. Serve You Right

3. My Antidote

4. Mind Your Manners

5. Lost Inside the Girl

6. Read Between the Lines

7. Slow Grind

8. The One You Loved Is Gone

9. Driving Rain

10. Sugar Cane

11. The Great Pretender

12. Boulevard of Broken Hearts

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player (opens in new tab). Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder (opens in new tab) and Unrecorded (opens in new tab). Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.