Video: Ritchie Blackmore-Era Deep Purple Perform "Knocking at Your Back Door" from Live DVD

Check out this newly released video of Deep Purple performing "Knocking at Your Back Door" in Melbourne, Australia, during their lengthy mid-'80s reunion tour.

The clip is from Perfect Strangers Live, the band's new live DVD, which was released this week by Eagle Rock Entertainment.

The DVD represents the only full-length recording of the band from that time (which is sort of bizarre, when you think about it). Although we've already posted the official video of "Perfect Strangers" from this DVD, "Knocking at Your Back Door" has a lot more guitar action to enjoy. Ritchie Blackmore's slide solo starts at 3:48 (Don't worry — there's more Blackmore after the 5:30 mark).

The Mark II version of Deep Purple — Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice — reunited in 1984 to record a killer of a comeback album, Perfect Strangers, marking the first time the lineup had worked together since 1973. "Knocking at Your Back Door" is one of the many standout tracks from the album.

From Eagle Rock: “Perfect Strangers Live is a stunning concert with the band in incendiary form. The setlist mixes new tracks from Perfect Strangers with favorites from the early '70s, culminating in the "Smoke on the Water" finale. This is one of the finest Deep Purple concerts ever filmed.”

Deep Purple are among the 2014 nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Perfect Strangers Live Tracklist:

01. Highway Star
02. Nobody’s Home
03. Strange Kind Of Woman
04. A Gypsy’s Kiss
05. Perfect Strangers (Hear it HERE)
06. Under The Gun
07. Knocking At Your Back Door
08. Lazy (including Ian Paice drum solo)
09. Child In Time
10. Difficult To Cure
11. Jon Lord Keyboard Solo
12. Space Truckin’ (with Ritchie Blackmore guitar solo)
13. Black Night (Hear it HERE)
14. Speed King
15. Smoke On The Water

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.