Video: Eric Clapton Rehearses "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out" for 1992 'Unplugged' Special

Eric Clapton was already a master of the electric guitar in January 1992 when he traded his signature Fender Strat for a Martin acoustic to record his hugely successful Unplugged album.

The live album captured the guitarist, backed by a small band, performing acoustic versions of his own songs and some blues standards.

Released later that year, the album sold more than 19 million copies and earned six Grammy awards, including Record of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year.

Reprise Records will release a new 2CD/DVD collection that includes a remastered version of the original album plus six unreleased outtakes on two CDs. The DVD features a restored version of the concert, as well as more than an hour of previously unseen footage from the rehearsal.

Speaking of which, be sure to check out the video below, which shows Clapton rehearsing while the MTV cameras rolled. The result is this stellar version of "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out."

Unplugged: Expanded and Remastered will be released October 15. Check out the entire track listing below the video.

CD & DVD Track Listing

  • 01. “Signe”
  • 02. “Before You Accuse Me”
  • 03. "Hey Hey”
  • 04. "Tears In Heaven”
  • 05. "Lonely Stranger”
  • 06. "Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out”
  • 07. "Layla”
  • 08. "Running On Faith”
  • 09. "Walkin’ Blues”
  • 10. "Alberta”
  • 11. "San Francisco Bay Blues”
  • 12. "Malted Milk”
  • 13. "Old Love”
  • 14. "Rollin’ & Tumblin’”

CD Disc Two – Outtakes & Alternates (All Tracks Previously Unreleased)

01. "Circus”
02. "My Father’s Eyes” (Take 1)
03. "Running On Faith” (Take 1)
04. "Walkin’ Blues” (Take 1)
05. "My Father’s Eyes” (Take 2)
06. "Worried Life Blues”

DVD Rehearsal Track List

01. "Signe”
02. "Before You Accuse Me”
03. "Hey Hey”
04. "Tears In Heaven”
05. "Circus”
06. "Lonely Stranger”
07. "Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out”
08. "Layla”
09. "My Father’s Eyes”
10. "Running On Faith”
11. "Walkin’ Blues”
12. "Alberta”
13. "San Francisco Bay Blues”
14. "Malted Milk”

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.